Mission Focus

Live to Write - Write to Live

As I write this I am reading articles about an artistic director in the UK who has been let go after 6 months officially on the job. Her vision, and the vision of the board, are colliding. The board says that she isn’t being true to the mission of the theater.

Were this a theater blog, I would write more about that subject. But for this blog, it makes me think about different genres of writing. When I turned in my manuscript for Just Killing Time, my editor had me rewrite the beginning. “Too dark,” was the comment. She was right. It was a good beginning for a thriller, or for a traditional mystery. But for a cozy? Way too dark. (I saved it for another book.)

It is very important to think about that when you are trying to sell a book. Hybrids, or mash-ups of different genres…

View original post 182 more words

Leave a Reply

