Building A Meaningful Writing Life

Katia Raina

People think that writers enroll in an MFA program on a quest for publication, the shiniest treasure of all. hobbit

And maybe some writers do. Okay, many do. Most.

I guess I did, too.

I enrolled in the program with that shiny goal in mind.

And then, after intense writing and reading and studying, one of the biggest lessons I got out of Vermont College of Fine Arts is the importance of … life.

Yes, life.

The writing life. But also, the life outside of writing.

As I started to pay closer attention to the ebb and flow of my process and my creative habits, I discovered that the busier I was with other things, the more often I took time to step away from the keyboard, the more passionately I lived, the more productive became my writing output.

The less tightly I clutched my work in progress, the easier the words came.

The less the writing 

View original post 465 more words

Leave a Reply

